Web Links

This list is drawn from the book’s Appendix and is reprinted here in full for easy linking.

Please do suggest additions and I’ll add the best to the list…

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four

Chapter Five

Chapter Six

Chapter Seven

Examples of touring venues

Tour Bookers

Chapter Eight

Printers

Media Buyers

Marketing Agencies

Chapter Nine

Press Agents

Chapter Ten

Chapter Eleven

Chapter Fourteen

Other Useful Online Resources

KEY PRESS

Although Web addresses are given for all titles, not all publish their full arts coverage online, and some charge for access or require registration.

National – broadsheet dailies

National – tabloid dailies with arts coverage

National – Sunday papers with arts coverage

THEATRE NEWS

Whatsonstage – http://www.whatsonstage.com - London focused site which is expanding its regional coverage. Unrivalled up-to-date news and reviews coverage, plus a lively message board with gossip and commentary.

The Stage Online – http://www.thestage.co.uk - Virtual presence of the theatre industry’s only weekly print publication. Blogs are useful and searchable news, reviews and listings archive is helpful for research.

Playbill – http://www.playbill.com - New York based site with all the latest Broadway and US theatre news, with a smattering of international coverage. Also publishes weekly takings for Broadway shows.

THEATRICAL REFERENCE

Arts Archive – http://www.arts-archive.com - Although occasionally hit-and-miss, this is a vast free archive covering UK show listings for roughly the last decade, sometimes including cast details.

Internet Broadway Database – http://www.ibdb.com - Does for Broadway what IMDB does for Hollywood, with detailed archive of productions and those involved in them.

London Theatre – http://www.londontheatre.co.uk - Detailed listings for London shows, although scant details of cast and crew.

Theatre Monkey – http://www.theatremonkey.com - Seating plans for London theatres with guides to good and bad seats. Useful particularly when setting your own ticket prices, or just to get a good seat!

Doolee – http://www.doollee.com - Useful site for tracking down a playwright’s credits, publishers and agent.

THEATRICAL GOSSIP

West End Whingers – http://www.westendwhingers.co.uk - Irreverent reviews of London shows by two anonymous paying punters, who aren’t afraid of saying acerbic things about previews. One particularly memorable posting reports how they spent the second half of a show frolicking in the sunshine rather than sitting through the performance.

Talkin Broadway – http://www.talkinbroadway.com - New York focussed site with lively message board, ‘All That Chat’.

The Guardian Theatre Blog – http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage - Whilst their news coverage is not worth bothering with, the site’s useful for its incisive opinions expressed through the lively blogs and comments.

Baz Bamigboye – http://www.dailymail.co.uk - The Daily Mail’s theatre correspondent often runs insightful gossip on his Friday column which is available via the newspaper’s Web site.

PHOTO LIBRARIES

Artzooks – http://www.artzooks.com - Access a number of popular libraries in one search. Often cheaper than buying directly from the source site.

Getty Images – http://www.gettyimages.com - One of the original photo libraries, with an incredible range including many classic shots and archival news material. Buying an image on a rights-managed basis from here can be eye-wateringly expensive, but you can at least get an instant quote online.

iStockPhoto – http://www.istockphoto.com - Anyone can post photos here for sale to others, so the quality can be variable but the range is unmatched. Useful search features allow you to seek out images based on their use of a particular colour, as well as by keyword.

Photos.com – http://www.photos.com - Images can be bought individually or subscribe for a month for unlimited access.

PHOTOGRAPHERS

Geraint Lewis - www.geraintlewis.com

Anne Marie Bickerton - www.annemariebickerton.com

Steve Ullathorne - www.ullapix.com

Robert Workman - www.robertworkman.demon.co.uk

GRAPHIC DESIGNERS

Feast Creative - www.feastcreative.com

Module - www.modulemedia.co.uk

Rubbaglove - www.rubbaglove.co.uk

Snow Creative - www.snowcreative.co.uk

CENTRAL LONDON CASTING & REHEARSAL SPACES

This is not an exhaustive list, and it is only exclusive in the sense that I’ve only included venues that I have a good personal experience of hiring. Not all locations are suitable for castings as some only rent by the week, whilst others are inconveniently located for actors trying to fit in multiple auditions in a day.

Artsadmin at Toynbee Studios – http://www.artsadmin.co.uk/toynbeestudios

Diorama Arts – http://www.diorama-arts.org.uk

Duthy Hall – http://www.duthyhall.com

Menier Chocolate Factory – http://www.menierchocolatefactory.com

Oval House – http://www.ovalhouse.com

People Show Studios – http://www.peopleshow.co.uk

Pleasance Islington – http://www.pleasance.co.uk

Quicksilver Theatre – http://www.quicksilvertheatre.org

St Gabriel’s Halls – http://www.stgabrielshalls.org.uk

St George’s Bloomsbury – http://www.stgeorgesbloomsbury.org.uk

The Devas Club – http://www.devasclub.org.uk

The Drill Hall – http://www.drillhall.co.uk

The Jerwood Space – http://www.jerwoodspace.co.uk

The Rag Factory – http://www.ragfactory.org.uk

Treadwell’s – http://www.treadwells-london.com

INSURERS

First Act – http://www.firstact.co.uk – Telephone 020 8686 5050

Gordon, Israel & Co. – Telephone 020 7251 2255

Walton & Parkinson Ltd – Telephone 020 7929 4747

SOLICITORS

Clintons Tel: 020 7379 6080 www.clintons.co.uk

Harbottle & Lewis Tel: 020 7667 5000 www.harbottle.com

Baker Tilly Tel: 020 7413 5100 www.bakertilly.co.uk

Breckman & Company Tel: 020 7499 2292

Barry Shaw Tel: 020 8297 8899

The Simkins Partnership Tel: 020 7907 3000 www.simkins.com

Tarlo Lyons Tel: 020 7405 2000 www.tarlolyons.com

ACCOUNTANTS

Nash Harvey Tel: 020 8746 3708 www.nashharveylondon.com

Nyman Libson Paul Tel: 020 7433 2400 www.nymanlibsonpaul.co.uk

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

One Comment

  • Simon Coates says:

    Hi James

    Thank you very much for your excellent “So You Want To Be A Theatre Producer” and accompanying website. I have dabbled on the fringes of the industry for a few years and am in the process of forming a new theatre company, and your book is proving really informative and encouraging

    I just thought I’d drop you a note to say that I’ve spotted a couple of obsolete/dead links which you might want to consider updating at some point, both under the Chapter 5 section:

    1) Scottish Arts Council now call themselves Creative Scotland with their website at http://www.creativescotland.com/

    2) Arts and Business’ website is now at http://www.artsandbusiness.org.uk/

    Thanks again and best wishes,

    Simon Coates

Leave a Reply


+ seven = 8